Testimonials & Reviews

Kane Orthopedic Institute

Thomas J. Kane, III, MD

Board Certified Orthopedic Surgeon & Adult Joint Reconstruction Surgeon located in Honolulu, HI

23 total reviews

Dr. Thomas J. Kane, III always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 23 reviews with an average rating of 4.96 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Thomas Kane, III below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Charles G.
Submitted 03/30/21
Dr. Thomas Kane takes plenty of time with patients and listens to them. He works to provide the most minimally invasive option for treatment, no rush to surgical options. Fixed my wife’s shoulder, now working on mine. Recommend him. It’s worth the cost of not messing with Medicare or insurance. Concierge medicine is the way to go.
RICK T.
Submitted 03/11/21
The visit was well organized and timely. Also the the announcements were very helpful. Excellent staff!
Frederic T.
Submitted 03/02/21
Seldom do I give out 5 star reviews but this consult appointment deserves it. From the initial phone call reception ..super questions asked on the phone and patient enrollment form promptly sent so it could be filled out before hand, to Dr Kane himself who was thoughtful explained issues with excellent understanding. It was one of the best consults I have experienced. Obviously Dr Kane is totally qualified with experience plus has a positive human aspect to his care. Really a happy camper after this experience.
BOBBI JO T.
Submitted 02/04/21
I had been in constant pain for over ten years. I had a really bad accident that left me with meniscus tears and ligament damages in both knees. I at the time thought I had a good surgeon who did injections, nerve blocks, and multiple surgeries on both knees. I ended up seeing MANY different doctors, numerous therapies, more injections, and eventually it left me crippled. I was in constant pain, on heavy painkillers, and I could not walk far. I had the worst time getting up off of chair, this made my life very hard. I could no longer enjoy the things I used to. I could not even go to the beach, the sand would be unbearable. I was 48 going on 100! I became very bowlegged and was so embarrassed. My mom told me she learned of this doctor who is supposed to be the best on the island, he did knee surgery on her boss, and worked with a friend of a friend and he is very brilliant. I did ask around, my PCP and Rheumatologist, and dermatologist all knew of him and said he is a really good doctor, they said I would get good care but I would pay out off pocket with the hopes of getting reimbursed later, I could easily find another doctor that could do a knee replacement, but the pain and agony I was in, I WANTED THE BEST OF THE BEST! I could not afford not to have the best of the best. When I met Dr. Kane, he understood me, he got me, he described my life, I had no quality, after all it is the quality of our life not the quantity that we all strive for right? I broke down in his office and cried, Dr. Kane and his staff are very compassionate, they are very caring. They have so much experience and knowledge, I knew I finally found my miracle worker. I will be honest, a double TKR is not a walk in the park, the first 3 days were the worst. Dr. Kane has connections as well, he brought his A Team to the operating room. From the anesthesiologist, assistant surgeons, nurses and staff, I was in excellent hands. I was sent to the Rehab hospital to help me with my recovery, and even there, I received the best care. I will forever be grateful for all the care I received. I have no regrets. My legs, both legs are straight! I can now walk without grabbing a shopping cart, rail, or crutches and I can enjoy the beach again. I went back to work in 3 weeks! To see my before and after xrays, what a difference. Dr. Kane, Jane, and Wendy - I love you and will forever be grateful for giving me my quality of life back! Thank you for taking such good care of me!
Robin W.
Submitted 01/27/21
Why use Kane Orthopedic Institute? Well for starters joint replacement is not a simple procedure, there are so many major and nuanced dynamics involved in joint replacement. Dr. Kane has replaced both of my arthritic hips over an 8 year span, (no, it didn’t take him 8 years to do the procedure) I’m 65 years old and rocking with full range of motion and most importantly…I am Pain Free!! Dr. Kane takes to heart first and foremost every individual’s anxiety and dread associated with your procedure and develops not only a surgical strategy to achieve the perfect outcome but also instills a peace of mind that calms your fears and anxieties and fills you with the confidence you need moving forward to reclaiming your life. His staff nurse Wendy fully understands the medical and physiological path to wellness both pre and post-surgery. Her kindness and compassion tethered with a tough love approach to our recovery further enhances the success of this team. Her advanced knowledge, associated with years of orthopedic and medical dedication, coupled with patient care management creates a double edged sword that ensures our path to a complete and successful recovery. She is by far in my opinion the smartest R.N. out there. I chose Kane Orthopedic Institute because beyond their surgical excellence, they all have a deep rooted concern in patient recovery and wellbeing, it becomes a priority by the entire staff. Their accumulated orthopedic knowledge and surgical skills far surpasses any orthopedic team in Hawaii bar none. Our peace of mind and body deserves the very best orthopedic care. Give them a call (808-521-2233) Jane would love to hear from you! Robin Wells Kealakekua, Hawaii
Meristella U.
Submitted 01/02/21
Dr.Kane is a wonderful and excellent doctor. Loving, caring, and compassionate. The staffs are hospitable and kind.
Judy S.
Submitted 12/23/20
Within one month month of my surgery, my pain was gone and my walk was back. Within two months I was prancing up and down stairs. Within three months I was back on my stand-up paddle board, swimming, dancing and bicycling. Count on Dr. Kane to do the job right!
Randy B.
Submitted 12/12/20
Outstanding
Ken K.
Submitted 12/04/20
Dr. Kane and his staff are always friendly, upbeat and very professional in the service they provide.
Dennis H.
Submitted 11/28/20
He’s a great Doctor!
Richard D.
Submitted 11/24/20
Quick, efficient, friendly
Timothy L.
Submitted 11/20/20
Dr. Kane is my HERO! After 25+ years of progressive deterioration and arthritic pain in both knee joints, Dr. Kane did total replacements for both of my knees in 2006. After some intense rehab, I have been pain-free in my knee joints ever since. He literally transformed my life. In fact, now, 14 years later, I feel 20 years younger, stronger, and what a difference his work has done for me mentally and emotionally. MAHALO NUI Dr. Kane! You're the best! Aloha, Tim
Robert S.
Submitted 10/28/20
The whole experience was great. In the blink of an eye, the operation was over and I was in my room. All the pain I had every day for over a year was gone. The pain I had after the operation was almost nothing. After a week the pain was almost nothing. After three weeks I can walk without a cane. Should of had it done a long time ago. Don't wait, get it done and live again!
Rick B.
Submitted 09/09/20
Expert exam. Kind. Caring. Very, very detailed. Very impressive collection of local, state and national credentials and awards. You know his expertise is the best and that will give you the very best care. After two years of doctors, physical therapists, pain management and other medical professionals kicking the can down the road, I’m finally in the right place.
Greg D.
Submitted 06/03/20
Dr Kane’s greatness as an orthopedic surgeon and skilled specialist is indisputable. He has brought me through injuries and surgery with the best results. What makes him an optimal human being is his openness, attentive listening, and his positivity while leading you through your healing journey. Wendy and Jane are kind and provide exceptional assistance.
Lynn W.
Submitted 05/07/20
It is ALWAYS a pleasure to visit Dr. Kane and staff. From the warm welcome to comforting care, I can wholeheartedly say they are THE BEST!
John P.
Submitted 05/03/20
Dr. Kane is the only surgeon that I trust. I have been misdiagnosed by several others. Dr. Kane is very thorough and informative. His manner is relaxed and he makes you feel like family. He is very trustworthy and kind. It took seven different appointments to find Dr. Kane and I’m referring him to both family and dear friends.
Bernard S.
Submitted 04/18/20
The doctor and staff are great. I arrived in pain that I have been dealing with for weeks the doctor had everything on site to diagnose me. They provided me the Medication to elevate some of the pain and made all of the arrangements for follow up testing and referrals. I highly recommend this practice.
Cheryl Lynn Y.
Submitted 04/11/20
Dr Kane, Wendy and Jane are awesome! They make you feel welcomed and special. Dr Kane gives you so much of his time. He really cares about you and will do everything in his power to make sure you have the best treatment and outcome. He’s the best!
Kiiko N.
Submitted 04/11/20
I want make appointment after Corona shock settled.