Testimonials & Reviews

Kane Orthopedic Institute

Thomas J. Kane, III, MD

Board Certified Orthopedic Surgeon & Adult Joint Reconstruction Surgeon located in Honolulu, HI

4.97/5 Star Rating
35 total reviews

Dr. Thomas J. Kane, III always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 35 reviews with an average rating of 4.97 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Thomas Kane, III below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Curtis B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/12/22
Knowledgeable doctor and great service.
Steven H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/04/22
Dr. Kane has been my go-to Orthopedic for many years. He had an easy going manner and open communication style that I really appreciate. His office staff are outstanding.
Mary D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/09/22
Dr Kane’s staff and nurses gave great attention to every detail of my first visit. They were authentically caring, on time and very helpful. Dr Kane was very professional, caring and had a great sense of humor. He was honest yet compassionate and understood my fears. I feel 100% confident that I chose the perfect doctor to do my knee replacement next month
Mark R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/25/22
Dr. Kane is very professional and takes the time to help you understand the entire situation. I’m very happy I chose him for my knee problem.
Annie T.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/12/22
It was a great pleasure to meet Dr. Kane and Wendy. I thoroughly appreciated and enjoyed my first time office visit with them. Dr Thomas simply explained everything to me using my X-rays and his own drawings of his course of recommendations to treat my knee. I understood everything said and strongly agreed with his plan of action. He didn’t rush or talked fast as if to hurry me out of the office. He is very patient, eager to hear what I had to say and approached me with great concern. All the reviews I read of Dr Kane are true, which is why I needed to see him. My medical coverage plan is not of Queen’s. Thank-you Dr Kane and Wendy for your genuine concern and professionalism. You bet I’ll be back if my knee acts up again. Fa’afetai tele lava ( Much Mahalo), Annie Tuatagaloa
Kathryn L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/02/22
A very knowledgeable doctor with a great personality. His explanation of knee surgery was excellent! I enjoyed my visit and felt confident with making a choice to replace my knee.
Lee S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/16/22
Dr Kane explained thoroughly the procedure I needed for my hips. The whole staff very friendly and helpful. I’m very glad I went to him for a second opinion. I’d recommend him to my friends if they need orthopedic care of their hips
Barbara M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/30/21
I have been a patient of Dr. Kane for over a decade. I live on Maui and the office makes traveling to Oahu for appointments effortless. Coordination with X-ray service and/or the outpatient facility at Queens is seamless and I have never had to wait. Once you have the X-ray films in hand you just hop on the elevator and Jane and Wendy set you up. Dr. Kane reviews everything with you in plain english and takes his time discussing objectives and treatments. His emphasis on pain-free mobility is greatly appreciated. I have had a total hip replacement, my knees and a shoulder fixed and I am extremely pleased with the results in every instance. They are outstanding professionals and really akamai folks. I recommend them highly.
Milton O.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/01/21
Very welcoming, warm, and friendly office. Dr. Kane, Wendy, and Jane have always been so cheerful and pleasant on my visits. Also, very professional and accommodating!
Tim G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/01/21
Wonderful
Loretta S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/19/21
Dr. Kane is a caring doctor who listens and works with you to heal your body.
Celi D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/11/21
Dr Kane is very knowledgeable and attentive, he is not in a hurry to see patients and he explains very well and makes sure patients understand everything and are comfortable .
Charles G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/30/21
Dr. Thomas Kane takes plenty of time with patients and listens to them. He works to provide the most minimally invasive option for treatment, no rush to surgical options. Fixed my wife’s shoulder, now working on mine. Recommend him. It’s worth the cost of not messing with Medicare or insurance. Concierge medicine is the way to go.
RICK T.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/11/21
The visit was well organized and timely. Also the the announcements were very helpful. Excellent staff!
Frederic T.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/02/21
Seldom do I give out 5 star reviews but this consult appointment deserves it. From the initial phone call reception ..super questions asked on the phone and patient enrollment form promptly sent so it could be filled out before hand, to Dr Kane himself who was thoughtful explained issues with excellent understanding. It was one of the best consults I have experienced. Obviously Dr Kane is totally qualified with experience plus has a positive human aspect to his care. Really a happy camper after this experience.
BOBBI JO T.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/04/21
I had been in constant pain for over ten years. I had a really bad accident that left me with meniscus tears and ligament damages in both knees. I at the time thought I had a good surgeon who did injections, nerve blocks, and multiple surgeries on both knees. I ended up seeing MANY different doctors, numerous therapies, more injections, and eventually it left me crippled. I was in constant pain, on heavy painkillers, and I could not walk far. I had the worst time getting up off of chair, this made my life very hard. I could no longer enjoy the things I used to. I could not even go to the beach, the sand would be unbearable. I was 48 going on 100! I became very bowlegged and was so embarrassed. My mom told me she learned of this doctor who is supposed to be the best on the island, he did knee surgery on her boss, and worked with a friend of a friend and he is very brilliant. I did ask around, my PCP and Rheumatologist, and dermatologist all knew of him and said he is a really good doctor, they said I would get good care but I would pay out off pocket with the hopes of getting reimbursed later, I could easily find another doctor that could do a knee replacement, but the pain and agony I was in, I WANTED THE BEST OF THE BEST! I could not afford not to have the best of the best. When I met Dr. Kane, he understood me, he got me, he described my life, I had no quality, after all it is the quality of our life not the quantity that we all strive for right? I broke down in his office and cried, Dr. Kane and his staff are very compassionate, they are very caring. They have so much experience and knowledge, I knew I finally found my miracle worker. I will be honest, a double TKR is not a walk in the park, the first 3 days were the worst. Dr. Kane has connections as well, he brought his A Team to the operating room. From the anesthesiologist, assistant surgeons, nurses and staff, I was in excellent hands. I was sent to the Rehab hospital to help me with my recovery, and even there, I received the best care. I will forever be grateful for all the care I received. I have no regrets. My legs, both legs are straight! I can now walk without grabbing a shopping cart, rail, or crutches and I can enjoy the beach again. I went back to work in 3 weeks! To see my before and after xrays, what a difference. Dr. Kane, Jane, and Wendy - I love you and will forever be grateful for giving me my quality of life back! Thank you for taking such good care of me!
Robin W.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/27/21
Why use Kane Orthopedic Institute? Well for starters joint replacement is not a simple procedure, there are so many major and nuanced dynamics involved in joint replacement. Dr. Kane has replaced both of my arthritic hips over an 8 year span, (no, it didn’t take him 8 years to do the procedure) I’m 65 years old and rocking with full range of motion and most importantly…I am Pain Free!! Dr. Kane takes to heart first and foremost every individual’s anxiety and dread associated with your procedure and develops not only a surgical strategy to achieve the perfect outcome but also instills a peace of mind that calms your fears and anxieties and fills you with the confidence you need moving forward to reclaiming your life. His staff nurse Wendy fully understands the medical and physiological path to wellness both pre and post-surgery. Her kindness and compassion tethered with a tough love approach to our recovery further enhances the success of this team. Her advanced knowledge, associated with years of orthopedic and medical dedication, coupled with patient care management creates a double edged sword that ensures our path to a complete and successful recovery. She is by far in my opinion the smartest R.N. out there. I chose Kane Orthopedic Institute because beyond their surgical excellence, they all have a deep rooted concern in patient recovery and wellbeing, it becomes a priority by the entire staff. Their accumulated orthopedic knowledge and surgical skills far surpasses any orthopedic team in Hawaii bar none. Our peace of mind and body deserves the very best orthopedic care. Give them a call (808-521-2233) Jane would love to hear from you! Robin Wells Kealakekua, Hawaii
Meristella U.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/02/21
Dr.Kane is a wonderful and excellent doctor. Loving, caring, and compassionate. The staffs are hospitable and kind.
Judy S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/23/20
Within one month month of my surgery, my pain was gone and my walk was back. Within two months I was prancing up and down stairs. Within three months I was back on my stand-up paddle board, swimming, dancing and bicycling. Count on Dr. Kane to do the job right!
Randy B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/12/20
Outstanding